Thread: The story behind Ferrari's first win

The story behind Ferrari's first win

I found this article http://www.f1aldia.com/12494/silvers...-hiciste-pepe/ which I very much liked, and decided to post it here for those of you who are hooked into the Ferrari history - I am sure that RedArmySoja can tell us how accurate the description of the events is!

Since it is in Spanish and Google translator is a mess, i have given a go at translating it myself. As usual, any contributions towards making the translation more intelligible in English are more than welcome!

It is rather long, so apologies if I split it in several posts.

F1 HISTORY AND LEGENDS
    Silverstone 1951: What did you do, Pepe!

My name is José Froilán González, but everybody calls me Pepe. I was born in Argentina, in a place called La Colonia, nearby Arrecifes; in this city, my father had bought the Chevrolet dealer, so I spent my childhood among cars, helping the mechanics at the workshop. I was a very poor student, I never managed to learn any mechanics; but I was crazy about cars, so when the dealer closed at night I would stay back and take one of the clients’s cars to drive around the city. I was very young and everything was going very fast; I started to race at clandestine night races in Arrecifes, we called them "picadas" (note: could be translated as “challenges”), then I moved onto competitions on dirt tracks, then to Buenos Aires to race on tarmac, and there I was when I was called by the Automóvil Club de Argentina. They told me that President Perón was going to sponsor the trip of a group of drivers to Europe so that they could compete in the newly-created F1 World Championship, and I had been chosen for the group. So I got into the plane together with Fangio himself, being a young guy of 28 – Fangio was 39 already!